BRAZORIA COUNTY CSCD
OFFENDER EDUCATION SERVICES
TEXAS DWI EDUCATION PROGRAM: Article 42.12, Section 13(h), Code of Criminal Procedure requires person convicted of first offense DWI and receiving probation, to attend and successfully complete an educational program certified by the Texas Commission on Alcohol and Drug Abuse. Failure to complete the program within 180 days (unless an extension was granted) from the date probation was granted will result in the offender's license being revoked. The license cannot be reinstated until the educational program is completed. The standardized program is 12 hours in length.
TEXAS DWI REPEAT OFFENDER PROGRAM (DWI Intervention): Article 42.12, Section 13(j), Code of Criminal Procedure requires persons convicted of subsequent DWI offenses to attend a program for "repeat offenders" approved by TCADA. Failure to complete the program will result in the offender's license being revoked until the program has been completed. This standardized program is 32 hours in length and is designed for multiple DWI offenders and/or others who have alcohol/drug related problems for which the first offender program was not designed to address. It is now a requirement of probation for offenders convicted of a subsequent DWI.
MISDEMEANOR AND FELONY DRUG OFFENSES
TEXAS DRUG OFFENDER EDUCATION PROGRAM: Section 521.371-521.377, Texas Transportation Code states that persons convicted of misdemeanor or felony drug offenses will automatically have their licenses suspended for a period of six months. In order to have their license reinstated, they must attend and successfully complete an education program on the dangers of drug abuse approved by TCADA. Failure to complete the program will result in the license being revoked indefinitely until the education program is completed. The standardized program is 15 hours in length.
Alcohol/Drug Education Classes
Brazoria County CSCD offers the DWI Education Class and the Drug Offender Education Class.
The Repeat Offender Program (DWI Intervention) is also taught in the Angleton Main Office and the North County Office. You must have a referral from your supervision officer to register for this course.
All classes are taught on weekday evenings or Saturday mornings. The costs effective September 1, 2012 are $100.00 for the DWI Education Class and $110 for the Drug Offender Education Class. The Repeat Offender Program is $200.00.
ALCOHOL/DRUG EDUCATION CLASS SCHEDULING
ANGLETON (1524 E Mulberry, Ste 200, Angleton, Texas 77515)
SCHEDULING: WEDNESDAY AT 9:30 A.M., 11:30 P.M.
Probationers only 3:00 P.M.
RESCHEDULING: WEDNESDAY between 8:00 A.M. and 4:00 P.M.
NORTH COUNTY OFFICE (3633 CR 58, Manvel, Texas 77578)
SCHEDULING: 1st and 3rd Wednesday at 9:00 A.M. OR 2:00 P.M.
RESCHEDULING: 1st and 3rd Wednesday between 9:00 A.M. and 11:00 A.M. OR between 1:00 P.M. and 3:00 P.M.Persons not on adult probation in Brazoria County must contact the Program Assistant, Colleen Seat, at 979-864-1406 for scheduling instructions.