Frequently Asked Questions

Print
Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

District Clerk

  • AG Family

    • What are your hours of operation?

      The Brazoria County Courthouse is open on M-F from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
    • How much are the Filing Fees?

      Filing fees vary depending on the type of action. Please refer to the fee schedule. The total fee is the sum of the applicable filing fee, the process/issuance fee (if applicable), and the service fee (if applicable) follows
    • What is the filing fee to file an Abstract?

      Abstracts are not filed with the District Clerk's Office. They are filed with the County Clerk's Office in Real Property Records 979-864-1360.
    • What do I do with the abstract now that I have it?

      The abstract can be filed in the county in which you believe the debtor might own property. In most counties, the abstract is filed with the County Clerk's Office. (An original abstract is required for each county.)
    • What is the fee to request an Abstract or Execution?

      $8.00 for each Abstract and $8.00 for an Execution.
    • Do you accept personal checks for filing?

      No. We only accept credit cards, cash, and checks tendered by approved attorneys.
    • What is a modification order?

      A modification is any change to the terms of a child support order and must be signed by a judge. Possible changes include an increase or decrease in child support, a change of payee, change of payor, or the frequency of the payment. To obtain a modification, you must contact a private attorney; the Attorney General’s Office or obtain information from a law library on how to prepare your own modification. The Brazoria County Law Library is located at 111 East Locust St., Ste. 315A, Angleton, Texas 77515.     
    • How do I file for child support?

      The Brazoria County District Clerk’s office does not have the paperwork to establish child support. When a customer wants to establish child support, the customer can hire an attorney, ask the Attorney General for representation or go to any law library to obtain information on how to prepare a petition for child support. The Brazoria County Law Library is located at 111 East Locust St., Ste. 315A, Angleton, Texas 77515.      
    • We accept cash, cashier’s checks, credit cards or money orders as payment. We do not accept personal checks.

      A new wage-withholding request must be filed each time the payor changes employment.       
    • How can I get my employer to automatically withdraw child support from my check?

      After the judge has signed a wage withholding order, customers wanting the payor’s wages withheld should fill out a Request for Income Withholding and submit it with $15.00 to our office for processing.        
    • When will my payment be posted?

      All payments posted by the State Disbursement Unit are processed within 48 hours of receipt, provided all the necessary information is included and the payment meets all of the State Disbursement Unit's acceptance criteria.                 
    • What method of payments does the State Disbursement Unit accept?

      The State Disbursement Unit accepts personal checks, cashier's checks, money orders, company checks and electronic transfers.                  
    • Who is the payor/payee?

      The person making the payment is the payor or obligor. The person receiving the payment is the payee or obligee.             
    • Where do I mail my child support payments?

      Texas State Disbursement Unit

      PO Box 659791

      San Antonio, Texas 78265

      Note: All payments must have your cause number listed. If a cause number is not provided, it will only delay the payment's being processed, or the payment may be returned to you for additional information.

    • To whom do I make my check payable?

      Texas State Disbursement Unit
    • How do I get my money from a cash bond?

      Present a signed order releasing the funds to the registry clerk.
    • I was served with a citation stating that I am being sued. What do I do next?

      We suggest you contact an attorney, Brazoria County Bar Association or texaslawhelp.org for information on filing an answer to the lawsuit.
    • What is a modification order?

      A modification is any change to the terms of a child support order and must be signed by a judge. Possible changes include an increase or decrease in child support, a change of payee, change of payor, or the frequency of the payment. To obtain a modification, you must contact a private attorney; the Attorney General's Office or obtain information from a law library on how to prepare your own modification. The Brazoria County Law Library is located at 111 East Locust St., Ste. 315A, Angleton, Texas 77515.
    • How do I file for child support?

      The Brazoria County District Clerk's office does not have the paperwork to establish child support. When a customer wants to establish child support, the customer can hire an attorney, ask the Attorney General for representation or go to any law library to obtain information on how to prepare a petition for child support. The Brazoria County Law Library is located at 111 East Locust St., Ste. 315A, Angleton, Texas 77515.
    • How can I get my employer to automatically withdraw child support from my check?

      After the judge has signed a wage withholding order, customers wanting the payor's wages withheld should fill out a Request for Income Withholding and submit it with $15.00 to our office for processing. Our mailing address is: Brazoria County District Clerk's Office, 111 E Locust, Ste. 500, Angleton, TX 77515, We accept cash, cashier's checks, credit cards or money orders as payment. We do not accept personal checks. A new wage-withholding request must be filed each time the payor changes employment.
    • When will my child support payment be posted?

      All payments posted by the State Disbursement Unit are processed within 48 hours of receipt, provided all the necessary information is included and the payment meets all of the State Disbursement Unit's acceptance criteria.
    • What method of payments does the State Disbursement Unit accept?

      The State Disbursement Unit accepts personal checks, cashier's checks, money orders, company checks and electronic transfers.
    • Who is the payor/payee?

      The person making the payment is the payor or obligor. The person receiving the payment is the payee or obligee.
    • To whom do I make my child support check payable?

      Texas State Disbursement Unit.
    • Where do I mail my child support payments?

      Texas State Disbursement Unit, PO Box 659791, San Antonio, Texas 78265. Note: All payments must have your cause number listed. If a cause number is not provided, it will only delay the payment's being processed, or the payment may be returned to you for additional information.
    • What is your address?

      Physical and mailing address is 111 E. Locust St., Ste. 500, Angleton, TX 77515.
    • Are you open on weekends?

      No
    • What are the methods of payment accepted? Can I pay by check?

      In Person, Cash, Credit Card (with proper ID), Money Order or Cashier's Check, Via Internet, Credit Card www.CertifiedPayments.com Bureau Code 6399362, By Mail, Cashier's Check and Money Order, By Phone, Credit Card 1-866-549-1010 Bureau Code 6399362, By Western Union, Pay to: Brazoria County District Clerk, Code City: Brazoria, State: Texas. WE DO NOT ACCEPT PERSONAL/BUSINESS/ or ATTORNEY CHECKS
    • Is there a number I can call to get case information?

      We do not give out information over the phone. You can get information by checking the Judicial Record Search on our website at http://publicbrazoria-county.com/PublicAccess/default.aspx.
    • How can I e-File?

      Please visit the Texas Online Web site at TexasOnline.com.
    • How can I fax file?

      The Brazoria County District Clerk's office does not accept fax filing.
    • How can I set up wage withholding?

      Our office will need a request in writing. You may mail or bring your request to our office. Our mailing address is 111 E. Locust, Ste. 500, Angleton, TX 77515. Our physical location is 111 E Locust, Ste. 500, Angleton, TX . A required fee of $15.00 is due at the time of the request. Payment is acceptable by mail in the form of a money order or cashier's check payable to the Brazoria County District Clerk. In person, all forms of payment are acceptable, except for personal check. The request will need to contain the case number, name of the employer, payroll mailing address of the employer, and the name of the person who is responsible for the child support. The request should also list the name of the order and the approximate date signed, if known. The Request for Income Withholding form is available in our Downloadable Forms.
    • How can I obtain a restraining/protective order?

      Unfortunately, our office cannot assist you with the preparation of your documents. You are responsible for preparing the documents you wish to file. Once you have your documents, you may file them in person or by mail. Our mailing address is 111 E. Locust, Ste. 500, Angleton, TX 77515. Our physical location is 111 E Locust, Ste. 500, Angleton, TX. A protective order packet is located on the Office of the Attorney General's Web site at Attorney General ofTexas .
    • How can I obtain a copy of my divorce decree?

      You may obtain a copy in person or by mail. To obtain a copy in person, please visit 111 E. Locust, Ste. 500, Angleton. You will receive your copy the same day. To obtain a copy by mail, please mail your request to Brazoria County District Clerk, 111 E. Locust, Ste. 500, Angleton, TX 77515. The cost is $1 per page plus an additional $1.00 if you want the copy certified. The request will need to contain the case number and what you would like a copy of. Please include a self-addressed stamped envelope. General processing time is between two to three days via mail.
    • Where can I mail or file my documents?

      If you wish to mail your documents to our office, please mail to Brazoria County District Clerk, 111 E. Locust, Ste. 500, Angleton, TX 77515. If you wish to file your documents in person, please file at 111 E. Locust, Ste. 500, Angleton, TX 77515
    • How much does it cost to file a case in the Brazoria County District Clerk's Office?

      Family Filing Fees vary depending on the type of action. Please refer to the fee schedule. The total fee is the sum of the applicable filing fee, the process/issuance fee (if applicable), and the service fee (if applicable).
    • How do I file for divorce and can I obtain the documents through your office?

      Unfortunately, our office cannot assist you with the preparation of your documents. You are responsible for preparing the documents you wish to file. Once you have your documents, you may file them in person or by mail. Our mailing address is 111 E. Locust, Ste. 500, Angleton, TX 77515. Our physical location is 111 E Locust, Room 500. A divorce handbook is located at Texas Young Lawyers Association.
    • How do I get my case set for trial?

      Contact the court coordinator.
    • Can I speak with the judge?

      All scheduling/appointment information should be directed to the coordinator for each court.
    • When filing attorney vacation schedules, what months are considered summer designations and non-summer designations?

      June, July and August are summer designations. All other months (September - May) are non-summer designations. Any days at the beginning of June that fall in the last week of May are also non-summer days. This last week of May is counted fully as a week in May.
    • Can I choose the court where I want to hear my case?

      No. The computer randomly chooses the court.
    • When will my case go to trial?

      The District Clerk's office does not set cases for hearing. You must speak with the coordinator for the court your case is filed in.
    • How do I find out if someone has been served?

      Check our website Judicial Record Search. Postings are real time.
    • Where do I file an answer to a lawsuit?

      Brazoria County District Clerk's Office, Intake Department, 111 E. Locust St., Ste. 500, Angleton, TX 77515.
    • How do I file a lawsuit?

      Unfortunately, our office cannot assist you with the preparation of your documents. You are responsible for preparing the documents you wish to file. Once you have your documents, you may file them in person or by mail. Our mailing address is 111 E. Locust, Ste. 500, Angleton, TX 77515. Our physical location is 111 E Locust, Room 500.
    • Do I have to hire an attorney to file a lawsuit?

      No. You can file your own lawsuit.
    • Where do I obtain a copy of my marriage license?

      This information can be obtained from the County Clerk's Office.
    • Can you give me my case number?

      This information can be obtained by calling 979-864-1128. There is a $5.00 fee for this service.
    • What is the time frame to transfer a case out of Brazoria County?

      After the order is signed and imaged, the case file will be sent to post judgment for processing. The transfer is normally processed within 30 days of the order.
    • I need to have an Abstract or Execution issued. What do I do?

      You will need to send a written request (This request can be found in our Downloadable forms) plus the filing fee ($8.00) to our office.
    • Do I need to supply a certified copy of the judgment with my request for Abstract or Execution?

      No
    • My judgment is against different defendants. Can't I request an Abstract against each defendant?

      No, all defendants are identified in the abstract. You may have as many abstracts as you want on a case but you only need multiple abstracts when you plan to file them in other counties.
    • Can I request an Execution against each defendant?

      No. Only one execution can be issued at a time no matter how many defendants you have. The execution will contain all defendants.
    • I need to have my Execution served, can you send it to the Sheriff?

      Yes. You will need to include the fee of $125.00 for the service fee. We will forward the execution to the Brazoria County Sheriff.
    • The Execution was returned "Nulla bona". What does that mean?

      This is when the sheriff/constable has not found any goods of the defendant on which he could levy.
    • My judgment is almost 10 years old and I need to keep it alive; how can I do this?

      If a writ of execution is not issued within the first 10 years of the judgment, it becomes dormant and we can not issue an execution. After the first execution is issued the dormant date runs from issue date of that execution.
    • I'm an attorney and would like to change my name/address information. How do I do this?

      To register an attorney change of name and/or address, please send a signed letter, which includes your bar number, or fill out and sign an attorney register change form. The form can be found on our Website in the Downloadable Forms. You may pick up a copy at the Intake Department in our office at 111 E. Locust St., Ste. 500, Angleton, TX 77515. Mail it to the District Clerk's Office, 111 E. Locust St., Ste. 500, Angleton, TX 77515.
    • Where do I file my pleadings?

      If you wish to mail your documents to our office, please mail to Brazoria County District Clerk, 111 E. Locust, Ste. 500, Angleton, TX 77515. If you wish to file your documents in person, please file at 111 E. Locust, Ste. 500, Angleton, TX 77515.
  • Appeals

    • What are your hours of operation?

      The Brazoria County Courthouse is open on M-F from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
    • How much are the Filing Fees?

      Filing fees vary depending on the type of action. Please refer to the fee schedule. The total fee is the sum of the applicable filing fee, the process/issuance fee (if applicable), and the service fee (if applicable) follows
    • Do you accept personal checks for filing?

      No. We only accept credit cards, cash, and checks tendered by approved attorneys.
    • What is your address?

      Physical and mailing address is 111 E. Locust St., Ste. 500, Angleton, TX 77515.
    • Are you open on weekends?

      No
    • What are the methods of payment accepted? Can I pay by check?

      In Person, Cash, Credit Card (with proper ID), Money Order or Cashier's Check, Via Internet, Credit Card www.CertifiedPayments.com Bureau Code 6399362, By Mail, Cashier's Check and Money Order, By Phone, Credit Card 1-866-549-1010 Bureau Code 6399362, By Western Union, Pay to: Brazoria County District Clerk, Code City: Brazoria, State: Texas. WE DO NOT ACCEPT PERSONAL/BUSINESS/ or ATTORNEY CHECKS
    • Is there a number I can call to get case information?

      We do not give out information over the phone. You can get information by checking the Judicial Record Search on our website at http://publicbrazoria-county.com/PublicAccess/default.aspx.
    • How can I fax file?

      The Brazoria County District Clerk's office does not accept fax filing.
    • How do I get my case set for trial?

      Contact the court coordinator.
    • Can I speak with the judge?

      All scheduling/appointment information should be directed to the coordinator for each court.
    • When filing attorney vacation schedules, what months are considered summer designations and non-summer designations?

      June, July and August are summer designations. All other months (September - May) are non-summer designations. Any days at the beginning of June that fall in the last week of May are also non-summer days. This last week of May is counted fully as a week in May.
    • Can I choose the court where I want to hear my case?

      No. The computer randomly chooses the court.
    • How do I file a lawsuit?

      Unfortunately, our office cannot assist you with the preparation of your documents. You are responsible for preparing the documents you wish to file. Once you have your documents, you may file them in person or by mail. Our mailing address is 111 E. Locust, Ste. 500, Angleton, TX 77515. Our physical location is 111 E Locust, Room 500.
    • Do I have to hire an attorney to file a lawsuit?

      No. You can file your own lawsuit.
    • Can you give me my case number?

      This information can be obtained by calling 979-864-1128. There is a $5.00 fee for this service.
    • How do I request a supplemental record?

      Send a written request identifying the documents you want included to the Brazoria County District Clerk's Office, 111 E. Locust St., Ste. 500, Angleton,TX 77515.
    • How can I get a copy of the clerk's record?

      Once the record is paid and forwarded to the Court of Appeals, the request is made through them.
    • Why did I get a bill in the mail when I've already paid for the clerk's record?

      When the record is completed we make a phone call to let you know of the completion and the costs involved. We also mail out a copy of the bill. If you have already paid, please ignore the bill.
    • Where do I go to pay for the clerk's record?

      You may come to the Brazoria County District Clerk's Office, 111 E. Locust St., Ste. 500, Angleton,TX 77515.
    • I didn't do a written request designating the clerk's record, so how do you know what to include in the record?

      If there is no written request, your transcript is prepared per Rule 34 of the Texas Rules of Appellate Procedure.
    • When will I be notified of the amount due on the clerk's record?

      Once the transcript has been completed, we will notify the requesting party by phone and letter.
    • What are the costs of my appellate clerk's record?

      The cost is $1.00 per page. The actual cost will be determined when all the pleadings are pulled, copied and numbered. A deposit may be required for large records.
    • Is there a fee for filing a Notice of Appeal?

      No.
    • Where do I go to file a Notice of Appeal?

      You need to mail it to or come to the Brazoria County District Clerk's Office, 111 E. Locust St., Ste. 500, Angleton,TX 77515.
    • Do you have a form to fill out for that?

      No, you may refer to Texas Rules of Appellate Procedure.
    • I need to appeal my case, what do I do?

      A Notice of Appeal must be filed within 30 days of the judgment according to the Texas Rules of Appellate Procedure.
    • I'm an attorney and would like to change my name/address information. How do I do this?

      To register an attorney change of name and/or address, please send a signed letter, which includes your bar number, or fill out and sign an attorney register change form. The form can be found on our Website in the Downloadable Forms. You may pick up a copy at the Intake Department in our office at 111 E. Locust St., Ste. 500, Angleton, TX 77515. Mail it to the District Clerk's Office, 111 E. Locust St., Ste. 500, Angleton, TX 77515.
    • Where do I file my pleadings?

      If you wish to mail your documents to our office, please mail to Brazoria County District Clerk, 111 E. Locust, Ste. 500, Angleton, TX 77515. If you wish to file your documents in person, please file at 111 E. Locust, Ste. 500, Angleton, TX 77515.
  • Civil

    • What are your hours of operation?

      The Brazoria County Courthouse is open on M-F from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
    • How much are the Filing Fees?

      Filing fees vary depending on the type of action. Please refer to the fee schedule. The total fee is the sum of the applicable filing fee, the process/issuance fee (if applicable), and the service fee (if applicable) follows
    • What is the filing fee to file an Abstract?

      Abstracts are not filed with the District Clerk's Office. They are filed with the County Clerk's Office in Real Property Records 979-864-1360.
    • What do I do with the abstract now that I have it?

      The abstract can be filed in the county in which you believe the debtor might own property. In most counties, the abstract is filed with the County Clerk's Office. (An original abstract is required for each county.)
    • What is the fee to request an Abstract or Execution?

      $8.00 for each Abstract and $8.00 for an Execution.
    • Do you accept personal checks for filing?

      No. We only accept credit cards, cash, and checks tendered by approved attorneys.
    • What is the filing fee for filing a civil suit?

      Please see Filing Fees.
    • How do I get my money from a cash bond?

      Present a signed order releasing the funds to the registry clerk.
    • I was served with a citation stating that I am being sued. What do I do next?

      We suggest you contact an attorney, Brazoria County Bar Association or texaslawhelp.org for information on filing an answer to the lawsuit.
    • We bought this judgment and we are the assignee. Can we be listed as the Plaintiff in the abstract or execution?

      If you file an Assignment of Judgment, this information will be included in the abstract/execution.
    • What is your address?

      Physical and mailing address is 111 E. Locust St., Ste. 500, Angleton, TX 77515.
    • Are you open on weekends?

      No
    • What are the methods of payment accepted? Can I pay by check?

      In Person, Cash, Credit Card (with proper ID), Money Order or Cashier's Check, Via Internet, Credit Card www.CertifiedPayments.com Bureau Code 6399362, By Mail, Cashier's Check and Money Order, By Phone, Credit Card 1-866-549-1010 Bureau Code 6399362, By Western Union, Pay to: Brazoria County District Clerk, Code City: Brazoria, State: Texas. WE DO NOT ACCEPT PERSONAL/BUSINESS/ or ATTORNEY CHECKS
    • Is there a number I can call to get case information?

      We do not give out information over the phone. You can get information by checking the Judicial Record Search on our website at http://publicbrazoria-county.com/PublicAccess/default.aspx.
    • How can I e-File?

      Please visit the Texas Online Web site at TexasOnline.com.
    • How can I fax file?

      The Brazoria County District Clerk's office does not accept fax filing.
    • How can I obtain a restraining/protective order?

      Unfortunately, our office cannot assist you with the preparation of your documents. You are responsible for preparing the documents you wish to file. Once you have your documents, you may file them in person or by mail. Our mailing address is 111 E. Locust, Ste. 500, Angleton, TX 77515. Our physical location is 111 E Locust, Ste. 500, Angleton, TX. A protective order packet is located on the Office of the Attorney General's Web site at Attorney General ofTexas .
    • Where can I mail or file my documents?

      If you wish to mail your documents to our office, please mail to Brazoria County District Clerk, 111 E. Locust, Ste. 500, Angleton, TX 77515. If you wish to file your documents in person, please file at 111 E. Locust, Ste. 500, Angleton, TX 77515
    • How do I get my case set for trial?

      Contact the court coordinator.
    • Can I speak with the judge?

      All scheduling/appointment information should be directed to the coordinator for each court.
    • When filing attorney vacation schedules, what months are considered summer designations and non-summer designations?

      June, July and August are summer designations. All other months (September - May) are non-summer designations. Any days at the beginning of June that fall in the last week of May are also non-summer days. This last week of May is counted fully as a week in May.
    • What if I don't have the money to pay my taxes?

      These questions are directed to the law firm handling the tax suit.
    • Where do I pay court costs on a Tax Suit?

      Court costs can be paid at the Brazoria County District Clerk's Office, Bookkeeping Department, 111 E. Locust St., Ste. 500, Angleton, TX 77515.
    • Where do I pay my delinquent taxes?

      Delinquent taxes are paid to Ro'vin Garrett, County Tax Assessor.
    • Can I choose the court where I want to hear my case?

      No. The computer randomly chooses the court.
    • When will my case go to trial?

      The District Clerk's office does not set cases for hearing. You must speak with the coordinator for the court your case is filed in.
    • How do I find out if someone has been served?

      Check our website Judicial Record Search. Postings are real time.
    • Where do I file an answer to a lawsuit?

      Brazoria County District Clerk's Office, Intake Department, 111 E. Locust St., Ste. 500, Angleton, TX 77515.
    • How do I file a lawsuit?

      Unfortunately, our office cannot assist you with the preparation of your documents. You are responsible for preparing the documents you wish to file. Once you have your documents, you may file them in person or by mail. Our mailing address is 111 E. Locust, Ste. 500, Angleton, TX 77515. Our physical location is 111 E Locust, Room 500.
    • Do I have to hire an attorney to file a lawsuit?

      No. You can file your own lawsuit.
    • Where do I file a civil lawsuit?

      Attorneys must eFile. Individuals without an attorney can file in person Brazoria County District Clerk's Office, Intake Department, 111 E. Locust St., Ste. 500, Angleton,TX 77515.
    • Can you give me my case number?

      This information can be obtained by calling 979-864-1128. There is a $5.00 fee for this service.
    • What is the cost for transferring a case to another county?

      Fees are $1 per page on all orders and docket sheets plus $1.00 for each certification. Also, the cost of postage will be added.
    • What is the time frame to transfer a case out of Brazoria County?

      After the order is signed and imaged, the case file will be sent to post judgment for processing. The transfer is normally processed within 30 days of the order.
    • There is a Mandate issued on our case. We won on appeal and we need to know how to get the funds from the Supersedeas Bond released to us.

      Motion and Order must be filed with the trial court asking for the release of the Bond.
    • A Mandate was issued and I need to know how to get a copy of that Mandate.

      All Mandates are imaged. A copy can be requested through the Brazoria County District Clerk's Office, 111 E. Locust St., Ste. 500, Angleton,TX 77515.
    • How much do I put up for a Supersedeas Bond?

      Must be at least the amount of the judgment, interest for the estimated duration of the appeal, and costs.
    • I need to have an Abstract or Execution issued. What do I do?

      You will need to send a written request (This request can be found in our Downloadable forms) plus the filing fee ($8.00) to our office.
    • Do I need to supply a certified copy of the judgment with my request for Abstract or Execution?

      No
    • My judgment is against different defendants. Can't I request an Abstract against each defendant?

      No, all defendants are identified in the abstract. You may have as many abstracts as you want on a case but you only need multiple abstracts when you plan to file them in other counties.
    • Can I request an Execution against each defendant?

      No. Only one execution can be issued at a time no matter how many defendants you have. The execution will contain all defendants.
    • I need to have my Execution served, can you send it to the Sheriff?

      Yes. You will need to include the fee of $125.00 for the service fee. We will forward the execution to the Brazoria County Sheriff.
    • The Execution was returned "Nulla bona". What does that mean?

      This is when the sheriff/constable has not found any goods of the defendant on which he could levy.
    • My judgment is almost 10 years old and I need to keep it alive; how can I do this?

      If a writ of execution is not issued within the first 10 years of the judgment, it becomes dormant and we can not issue an execution. After the first execution is issued the dormant date runs from issue date of that execution.
    • I'm an attorney and would like to change my name/address information. How do I do this?

      To register an attorney change of name and/or address, please send a signed letter, which includes your bar number, or fill out and sign an attorney register change form. The form can be found on our Website in the Downloadable Forms. You may pick up a copy at the Intake Department in our office at 111 E. Locust St., Ste. 500, Angleton, TX 77515. Mail it to the District Clerk's Office, 111 E. Locust St., Ste. 500, Angleton, TX 77515.
    • Where do I file my pleadings?

      If you wish to mail your documents to our office, please mail to Brazoria County District Clerk, 111 E. Locust, Ste. 500, Angleton, TX 77515. If you wish to file your documents in person, please file at 111 E. Locust, Ste. 500, Angleton, TX 77515.
  • Criminal

    • What are your hours of operation?

      The Brazoria County Courthouse is open on M-F from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
    • What is the filing fee to file an Abstract?

      Abstracts are not filed with the District Clerk's Office. They are filed with the County Clerk's Office in Real Property Records 979-864-1360.
    • I was a victim of a criminal offense. Where can I go to get information or assistance concerning the status or outcome of the case?

      You can get information from the District Attorney's Office or check the Judicial Record Search on our website.
    • What do I do with the abstract now that I have it?

      The abstract can be filed in the county in which you believe the debtor might own property. In most counties, the abstract is filed with the County Clerk's Office. (An original abstract is required for each county.)
    • What is the fee to request an Abstract or Execution?

      $8.00 for each Abstract and $8.00 for an Execution.
    • How do I get my money from a cash bond?

      Present a signed order releasing the funds to the registry clerk.
    • What is your address?

      Physical and mailing address is 111 E. Locust St., Ste. 500, Angleton, TX 77515.
    • Are you open on weekends?

      No
    • I cannot make my payment on time, can I pay it late?

      If you pay late we are mandated to let the court know. You should speak to one of the collectors to make arrangements. You can reach Collections by calling 979-864-1831.
    • How can I obtain information regarding inmates incarcerated in Brazoria County Jail?

      Please visit the Brazoria County Web site, Judicial Record Search. There is a Jail Records Search option on that site.
    • Is there a number I can call for a name inquiry?

      Customers with only a name and date of birth may call 979-864-1128 to obtain a criminal record search. A fee of $5.00 is charged for this service. An additional fee of $5.00 is charged for written confirmation or a certificate of the search. All major credit cards are accepted for this transaction.
    • Where can I obtain sex offender Information?

      The Department of Public Safety will be able to provide you more information on this topic. Click to query sex offender information.
    • Where can I file for an occupational driver's license?

      Petitions for an occupational driver's license may be filed at the Intake department on the west end of the office of the Brazoria County District Clerk's office at 111 E. Locust St., Ste. 500, Angleton. You can get more information from Texas Law Help about occupational driver's licenses.
    • Where can I file a Post Conviction Writ of Habeas Corpus?

      The west end of the office of the Brazoria County District Clerk's office at 111 E. Locust St., Ste. 500, Angleton. The application for a Post Conviction Writ of Habeas Corpus must be filed on the proper form, which the applicant may obtain online at the Court of Criminal Appeals.
    • Is there a number I can call to get case information?

      We do not give out information over the phone. You can get information by checking the Judicial Record Search on our website at http://publicbrazoria-county.com/PublicAccess/default.aspx.
    • How do I expunge my criminal case?

      Since we are unable to provide legal assistance, you should review the Code of Criminal Procedure Chapter 55 or Texas Law Help relating to expunctions or seek counsel from a licensed attorney.
    • Where do I go to file charges against someone who has committed a crime?

      If you have been a victim of a criminal offense, you should contact the nearest local law enforcement agency to conduct the investigation and file the appropriate criminal charges through the District Attorney's Office.
    • Someone stole my identity and was arrested and convicted of a criminal offense. Is it possible to have my name removed from these records?

      Yes - Article 55.01 (d), Code of Criminal Procedure explains your entitlement when an arrested person has falsely used your information during an arrest. Article 55.02, Code of Criminal Procedure explains the procedure for expunction of records. You should contact an attorney to advise you of your legal rights.
    • How can I file for a Petition of Non-Disclosure of my deferred adjudication?

      Unfortunately, our office is unable to provide legal advice regarding non-disclosure for deferred adjudication. However, Texas Law Help has more information you can refer to.
    • The court deferred adjudication of my guilt and placed me on probation and my probation has since been terminated. Is this record available to potential employers, etc?

      Yes, the District Clerk will always have a record of the action taken on your case, even in instances of deferred adjudication. Article 42.12, section 5 (f), Code of Criminal Procedure specifically states that a record in the custody of the District Clerk regarding a case in which a person is granted deferred adjudication is not confidential.
    • How can I fax file?

      The Brazoria County District Clerk's office does not accept fax filing.
    • How can I obtain a restraining/protective order?

      Unfortunately, our office cannot assist you with the preparation of your documents. You are responsible for preparing the documents you wish to file. Once you have your documents, you may file them in person or by mail. Our mailing address is 111 E. Locust, Ste. 500, Angleton, TX 77515. Our physical location is 111 E Locust, Ste. 500, Angleton, TX. A protective order packet is located on the Office of the Attorney General's Web site at Attorney General ofTexas .
    • Where can I mail or file my documents?

      If you wish to mail your documents to our office, please mail to Brazoria County District Clerk, 111 E. Locust, Ste. 500, Angleton, TX 77515. If you wish to file your documents in person, please file at 111 E. Locust, Ste. 500, Angleton, TX 77515
    • How do I get my case set for trial?

      Contact the court coordinator.
    • Can I speak with the judge?

      All scheduling/appointment information should be directed to the coordinator for each court.
    • When filing attorney vacation schedules, what months are considered summer designations and non-summer designations?

      June, July and August are summer designations. All other months (September - May) are non-summer designations. Any days at the beginning of June that fall in the last week of May are also non-summer days. This last week of May is counted fully as a week in May.
    • Can I choose the court where I want to hear my case?

      No. The computer randomly chooses the court.
    • When will my case go to trial?

      The District Clerk's office does not set cases for hearing. You must speak with the coordinator for the court your case is filed in.
    • Can you give me my case number?

      This information can be obtained by calling 979-864-1128. There is a $5.00 fee for this service.
    • I need to have an Abstract or Execution issued. What do I do?

      You will need to send a written request (This request can be found in our Downloadable forms) plus the filing fee ($8.00) to our office.
    • Do I need to supply a certified copy of the judgment with my request for Abstract or Execution?

      No
    • My judgment is against different defendants. Can't I request an Abstract against each defendant?

      No, all defendants are identified in the abstract. You may have as many abstracts as you want on a case but you only need multiple abstracts when you plan to file them in other counties.
    • Can I request an Execution against each defendant?

      No. Only one execution can be issued at a time no matter how many defendants you have. The execution will contain all defendants.
    • I need to have my Execution served, can you send it to the Sheriff?

      Yes. You will need to include the fee of $125.00 for the service fee. We will forward the execution to the Brazoria County Sheriff.
    • The Execution was returned "Nulla bona". What does that mean?

      This is when the sheriff/constable has not found any goods of the defendant on which he could levy.
    • I'm an attorney and would like to change my name/address information. How do I do this?

      To register an attorney change of name and/or address, please send a signed letter, which includes your bar number, or fill out and sign an attorney register change form. The form can be found on our Website in the Downloadable Forms. You may pick up a copy at the Intake Department in our office at 111 E. Locust St., Ste. 500, Angleton, TX 77515. Mail it to the District Clerk's Office, 111 E. Locust St., Ste. 500, Angleton, TX 77515.
    • Where do I file my pleadings?

      If you wish to mail your documents to our office, please mail to Brazoria County District Clerk, 111 E. Locust, Ste. 500, Angleton, TX 77515. If you wish to file your documents in person, please file at 111 E. Locust, Ste. 500, Angleton, TX 77515.
  • Jury Duty

    • Are Jurors paid for their service?

      Jurors are paid for their service. Each juror receives ten dollars ($10) for the first day of appearance and forty dollars ($40) for the second and any subsequent days of appearance. Jurors may donate their pay to a number of organizations that have been approved by the Brazoria County Commissioners Court.

      *Payment is processed at the end of jury service, and a check is mailed to each juror within three to four weeks of their service.*

    • What do I do if I am sick on jury duty day?

      Call your District Clerk's office. (979) 864-1836
    • May I claim a legal exemption (be excused) from jury duty?

      Please note:
      You are not required to claim an exemption even though one might apply to you. If you would like to serve even though you are eligible for an exemption then we certainly appreciate your choosing to do so. At this time the only type of employment that may claim an exemption from jury duty is exemption No. 4 below. The Statutes regarding jury duty exemptions are found in Section 62.106 of the Government Code.

      You MAY claim an exemption from jury duty if you are:

      1. You are 70 years of age or older.
      2. You have legal custody of a child under the age of 12 and serving on jury duty would necessitate leaving this child(ren) without adequate supervision. This exemption does not apply if you work outside the home during normal business hours. You may be excused if you are working part-time or unusual hours.
      3. You are a high school or college student. This exemption applies for those who are currently in actual attendance. You must be attending during hours that would conflict with your jury service. Jury service is usually 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.
      4. You are an officer or employee of the Senate, the House of Representatives or any department, commission, board, office or agency of the legislative branch of government. This exemption does not apply to a person who is just a member of a board: (A) To be an officer means president, vice-president, secretary, treasurer, etc.; (B) To be an employee means to be on the payroll of the Senate, House, committee, board, or any agency in the legislative branch.
      5. You have served as a petit juror in the last 48 months period prior to the date you are to appear for this summons. This exemption is for those who were one of six or twelve jurors chosen for a trial and were sworn in by the judge. This does not apply to those who served on a Municipal Court or Federal Court jury.
      6. You are a primary caretaker of an invalid who is unable to care for him/herself. To qualify for this exemption, you must be the only caretaker and you must live at the same address as that person. Invalids in nursing or residential homes have caretakers. If you work as a health care provider, you are not eligible for this exemption.
      7. Medical conditions. (Physical or mental impairment) If you have a medical condition which would make it impossible or very difficult to serve as a juror, you may request an exemption by contacting the presiding judge.        
      8. Active Duty Military. You are a member of the United States military forces serving on active duty and deployed to a location away from your home station and out of your county of residence.
    • Am I qualified to serve as a Juror in Brazoria County?

      The laws and rules regarding statutory qualifications are found in Sec. 62.102 of the Government Code.

      You are qualified to serve as a petit juror in Brazoria County if you are:

      1. At least 18 years of age
      2. A citizen of the United States
      3. A resident in Brazoria County
      4. Are of sound mind and good moral character
      5. Are able to read and write
      6. Have not served as a petit juror in the Brazoria County courts system during the preceding 6 months. (This does not include federal or municipal courts.)
      7. Have not been convicted of any felony
      8. Have not been convicted of any type of theft – whether a felony or a misdemeanor. (This includes a conviction for a Hot Check offense. If you have had a charge in the past for a Hot Check and you are not sure whether it is considered a conviction or not then please check with the county records in the county where the offense occurred.)
      9. Are not under indictment or any type of legal accusation for a felony or any type of theft.
      10. Are qualified under the Constitution and Laws to vote in Brazoria. (This does not mean that you have to be registered to vote in order to serve as a juror – just that you are eligible to register to vote if you wanted to.)
    • What are your hours of operation?

      The Brazoria County Courthouse is open on M-F from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
    • What is your address?

      Physical and mailing address is 111 E. Locust St., Ste. 500, Angleton, TX 77515.
    • Are you open on weekends?

      No
    • Can I change my report date?

      YES! Except for specially called jury panels (which are very rare) Brazoria County allows every juror one postponement for any reason at all in order for everyone to have the opportunity to pick a date better suited for their individual schedule. Before choosing to reschedule your service please understand that you are limited to just ONE change so please be sure that you choose your new appearance date carefully.

    • Must my employer pay me while I’m on jury service?

      Unfortunately your employer is not currently required by Texas state law to pay you while you are serving jury duty. However the law states that an employer can not terminate your employment for attending jury service.
    • What if I am self-employed?

      Unfortunately there are no business/self-employment exemptions administered by the state legislature at this time.
    • How long does jury service last?

      Approximately 20% of prospective jurors are selected for trials. If you are not selected to sit as a juror on a case, you can expect to be released for the week. If you are selected, you will serve for one trial. Surprisingly, the average trial only lasts one (1) to three (3) days.

    • What if I don’t have transportation?

      There are no transportation exemptions. If you have not been rescheduled before, then you may request a postponement in order to make better arrangements to appear.
    • I have received a summons for a person who is active duty military. How do I handle this?

      Please write on the front or back of the summons “Active duty military” and return to our office.
    • I have received a summons for a person who does not live at this address. What do I do with the summons?

      The summons needs to be returned indicating that the person does not live at the address.
    • I have received a summons for a person who is now deceased. What do I do to take care of this?

      Please write on the front or back of the summons “Deceased” and return to our office. We will then forward this information to the Brazoria County elections department.

    • I have received a summons for my son or daughter who is away attending college. May I take care of this for them or do I have to mail it to them?

      Yes, you may take care of this matter by indicating on the back of the summons that they are enrolled in college and just sign your name as a parent and return to Jury Services.
  • Records/Data Information

    • What are your hours of operation?

      The Brazoria County Courthouse is open on M-F from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
    • I was a victim of a criminal offense. Where can I go to get information or assistance concerning the status or outcome of the case?

      You can get information from the District Attorney's Office or check the Judicial Record Search on our website.
    • What is your address?

      Physical and mailing address is 111 E. Locust St., Ste. 500, Angleton, TX 77515.
    • Are you open on weekends?

      No
    • What are the methods of payment accepted? Can I pay by check?

      In Person, Cash, Credit Card (with proper ID), Money Order or Cashier's Check, Via Internet, Credit Card www.CertifiedPayments.com Bureau Code 6399362, By Mail, Cashier's Check and Money Order, By Phone, Credit Card 1-866-549-1010 Bureau Code 6399362, By Western Union, Pay to: Brazoria County District Clerk, Code City: Brazoria, State: Texas. WE DO NOT ACCEPT PERSONAL/BUSINESS/ or ATTORNEY CHECKS
    • How can I obtain information regarding inmates incarcerated in Brazoria County Jail?

      Please visit the Brazoria County Web site, Judicial Record Search. There is a Jail Records Search option on that site.
    • Is there a number I can call for a name inquiry?

      Customers with only a name and date of birth may call 979-864-1128 to obtain a criminal record search. A fee of $5.00 is charged for this service. An additional fee of $5.00 is charged for written confirmation or a certificate of the search. All major credit cards are accepted for this transaction.
    • Where can I obtain sex offender Information?

      The Department of Public Safety will be able to provide you more information on this topic. Click to query sex offender information.
    • Is there a number I can call to get case information?

      We do not give out information over the phone. You can get information by checking the Judicial Record Search on our website at http://publicbrazoria-county.com/PublicAccess/default.aspx.
    • How do I expunge my criminal case?

      Since we are unable to provide legal assistance, you should review the Code of Criminal Procedure Chapter 55 or Texas Law Help relating to expunctions or seek counsel from a licensed attorney.
    • Someone stole my identity and was arrested and convicted of a criminal offense. Is it possible to have my name removed from these records?

      Yes - Article 55.01 (d), Code of Criminal Procedure explains your entitlement when an arrested person has falsely used your information during an arrest. Article 55.02, Code of Criminal Procedure explains the procedure for expunction of records. You should contact an attorney to advise you of your legal rights.
    • The court deferred adjudication of my guilt and placed me on probation and my probation has since been terminated. Is this record available to potential employers, etc?

      Yes, the District Clerk will always have a record of the action taken on your case, even in instances of deferred adjudication. Article 42.12, section 5 (f), Code of Criminal Procedure specifically states that a record in the custody of the District Clerk regarding a case in which a person is granted deferred adjudication is not confidential.
    • How can I obtain a copy of my divorce decree?

      You may obtain a copy in person or by mail. To obtain a copy in person, please visit 111 E. Locust, Ste. 500, Angleton. You will receive your copy the same day. To obtain a copy by mail, please mail your request to Brazoria County District Clerk, 111 E. Locust, Ste. 500, Angleton, TX 77515. The cost is $1 per page plus an additional $1.00 if you want the copy certified. The request will need to contain the case number and what you would like a copy of. Please include a self-addressed stamped envelope. General processing time is between two to three days via mail.
    • How do I file for divorce and can I obtain the documents through your office?

      Unfortunately, our office cannot assist you with the preparation of your documents. You are responsible for preparing the documents you wish to file. Once you have your documents, you may file them in person or by mail. Our mailing address is 111 E. Locust, Ste. 500, Angleton, TX 77515. Our physical location is 111 E Locust, Room 500. A divorce handbook is located at Texas Young Lawyers Association.
    • When filing attorney vacation schedules, what months are considered summer designations and non-summer designations?

      June, July and August are summer designations. All other months (September - May) are non-summer designations. Any days at the beginning of June that fall in the last week of May are also non-summer days. This last week of May is counted fully as a week in May.
    • Is there a fee for a search?

      Yes, the fee is $5.00.
    • Can I request certain pages of the document or do I have to purchase the entire file?

      You may request any or all pages of the document.
    • How can I obtain a copy of a record kept by the District Clerk?

      Copies can be obtained by fax, mail, in person or by email.
    • Where do I obtain a copy of my marriage license?

      This information can be obtained from the County Clerk's Office.
    • Can you give me my case number?

      This information can be obtained by calling 979-864-1128. There is a $5.00 fee for this service.
    • What is the fee for a copy?

      All copies are $1.00 per page plus an additional $1.00 to certify the copy.
    • Where do I get a copy of my court documents?

      The Records Division located at 111 E. Locust St., Ste. 500, Angleton,TX.
    • I'm an attorney and would like to change my name/address information. How do I do this?

      To register an attorney change of name and/or address, please send a signed letter, which includes your bar number, or fill out and sign an attorney register change form. The form can be found on our Website in the Downloadable Forms. You may pick up a copy at the Intake Department in our office at 111 E. Locust St., Ste. 500, Angleton, TX 77515. Mail it to the District Clerk's Office, 111 E. Locust St., Ste. 500, Angleton, TX 77515.
    • How do I get a certified copy?

      If you wish to purchase certified copies of public records in person, you may between the hours of 8:00 a.m. and 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday in the Brazoria County District Clerk�s Records Division, 111 E. Locust St., Ste. 500, Angleton, TX 77515.
    • Can I request copies by mail?

      Yes. The mailing address is 111 E. Locust, Ste. 500, Angleton, TX 77515. Copies are $1.00 per page plus $1.00 for certification. We accept cashier's checks and money orders made payable to Jerry Deere, Brazoria County District Clerk, and accept Visa, Mastercard, American Express and Discover Card.
    • Do you have computer terminals that the public can use?

      Yes. The public can search for civil records. Just come to the Courthouse, located at 111 E. Locust, Ste. 500, Angleton, TX.
  • Registry/Bookkeeping

    • What are your hours of operation?

      The Brazoria County Courthouse is open on M-F from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
    • How much are the Filing Fees?

      Filing fees vary depending on the type of action. Please refer to the fee schedule. The total fee is the sum of the applicable filing fee, the process/issuance fee (if applicable), and the service fee (if applicable) follows
    • How do I get my money from a cash bond?

      Present a signed order releasing the funds to the registry clerk.
    • What is your address?

      Physical and mailing address is 111 E. Locust St., Ste. 500, Angleton, TX 77515.
    • Are you open on weekends?

      No
    • What are the methods of payment accepted? Can I pay by check?

      In Person, Cash, Credit Card (with proper ID), Money Order or Cashier's Check, Via Internet, Credit Card www.CertifiedPayments.com Bureau Code 6399362, By Mail, Cashier's Check and Money Order, By Phone, Credit Card 1-866-549-1010 Bureau Code 6399362, By Western Union, Pay to: Brazoria County District Clerk, Code City: Brazoria, State: Texas. WE DO NOT ACCEPT PERSONAL/BUSINESS/ or ATTORNEY CHECKS
    • Is there a number I can call to get case information?

      We do not give out information over the phone. You can get information by checking the Judicial Record Search on our website at http://publicbrazoria-county.com/PublicAccess/default.aspx.
    • How can I e-File?

      Please visit the Texas Online Web site at TexasOnline.com.
    • How can I fax file?

      The Brazoria County District Clerk's office does not accept fax filing.
    • How do I get my case set for trial?

      Contact the court coordinator.
    • Can I speak with the judge?

      All scheduling/appointment information should be directed to the coordinator for each court.
    • What if I don't have the money to pay my taxes?

      These questions are directed to the law firm handling the tax suit.
    • Where do I pay court costs on a Tax Suit?

      Court costs can be paid at the Brazoria County District Clerk's Office, Bookkeeping Department, 111 E. Locust St., Ste. 500, Angleton, TX 77515.
    • Where do I pay my delinquent taxes?

      Delinquent taxes are paid to Ro'vin Garrett, County Tax Assessor.
    • I'm an attorney and would like to change my name/address information. How do I do this?

      To register an attorney change of name and/or address, please send a signed letter, which includes your bar number, or fill out and sign an attorney register change form. The form can be found on our Website in the Downloadable Forms. You may pick up a copy at the Intake Department in our office at 111 E. Locust St., Ste. 500, Angleton, TX 77515. Mail it to the District Clerk's Office, 111 E. Locust St., Ste. 500, Angleton, TX 77515.