Civil Matters

Important! Important! Important!

The Judge, by law, is not allowed to speak with you about your suit prior to the hearing. This is so he or she
can render an impartial and fair ruling after hearing "both sides" of the case. The Court Clerks will be more
than happy to answer your questions and provide you with procedural information needed for filing your suit.

Keep in mind that Court Clerks cannot give you legal advice. If legal advice is needed, you must contact an
attorney.

THE COURT DOES NOT COLLECT THE JUDGMENT FOR YOU.

L] Debt Claim: A debt claim case is a lawsuit brought to [ Eviction: An eviction case is a lawsuit brought to recover
recover a debt by an assignee of a claim, a debt collector possession of real property, often by a landlord against a tenant.
or collection agency, a financial institution, or a person or A claim for rent may be joined with an eviction case if the
entity primarily engaged in the business of lending money amount of rent due and unpaid is not more than $20,000,
at interest. The claim can be for no more than $20,000, excluding statutory interest and court costs but including
excluding statutory interest and court costs but including attorney fees, if any.

attorney fees, if any.

L] Repair and Remedy: A repair and remedy case is a C] Small Claims: A small claims case is a lawsuit brought for
lawsuit filed by a residential tenant under Chapter 92, the recovery of money damages, civil penalties, personal
Subchapter B of the Texas Property Code to enforce the property, or other relief allowed by law. The claim can be for no
landlord’s duty to repair or remedy a condition materially more than $20,000, excluding statutory interest and court costs
affecting the physical health or safety of an ordinary but including attorney fees, if any.

tenant. The relief sought can be for no more than
$20,000, excluding statutory interest and court costs but
including attorney fees, if any.

Helpful Websites & Information

Texas Courts

Lone Start Legal Aid

Texas Law Help

Texas Rules of Civil Procedure

Texas Property Code

Civil Practices & Remedies Code-Chapter 15, Subchapter E

Texas Courts Self Representative Litigant Help

TJCTC Self-Represented Litigants Information Packets

Updated 09/2023



http://www.txcourts.gov/
http://lonestarlegal.org/
http://www.texaslawhelp.org/
https://www.txcourts.gov/media/1448249/trcp-all-updated-with-amendments-effective-712020.pdf
https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/SDocs/PROPERTYCODE.pdf
https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/docs/cp/htm/cp.15.htm
https://www.txcourts.gov/programs-services/self-help/self-represented-litigants/
https://www.tjctc.org/SRL.html

Read the attached material carefully. It may save you time and money. If you wish to file a suit, the below listed steps
are suggested:

1. Send the person or corporation a registered letter outlining your grievance and tell them what you expect
them to do to avoid litigation. Keep your green card.

2. Wait at least ten days for the defendant to respond. If the problem cannot be resolved, bring in your green
card and a copy of your demand letter you sent and see the Civil Clerk to complete a complaint form. State
law requires you pay all fees and service charges at the time you file your suit.

Generally, the venue of the case is where the damages took place or where the defendant resides. You may file in any
JP Office in the State of Texas; however, filing in the wrong office may result in a delay and/or additional fees if the
venue is disputed.

Information Needed at the Time of Filing
Name, physical address, and identifiers for Defendant:

Name- The way you "title" your suit is very important. The person filing the suit is the Plaintiff and the person or
business the suit is filed against is the Defendant. If you are bringing suit against a business (the Business or Corporation
is the Defendant), you must provide the name and address of an individual for service of the citation. For a privately
owned business, DBA (Doing Business As) information may be obtained from the County Clerk's Office. If the Defendant
is a corporation, citation service must be made on a corporation's "Registered Agent." There is a place to list the
"Registered Agent" in the body of the petition. You may contact the Secretary of State at 512-463-5555 or the State
Comptroller at 1-800-252-1386 for information about a corporation's "Registered Agent." The clerks in this office
cannot advise you about whom to name as the Defendant.

Address- provide a physical address and description of property or place of employment for service of the citation along
with a mailing address.

Identifiers - date of birth and/or drives license number - Although not necessary, this information is useful.

Determine the total dollar amount for which you are suing and provide a brief description of the reason for filing your
suit.

Civil filing fee is $54.00 and service fees vary from county to county. Citation service fee for Brazoria County is $75.00
per defendant. Determine the county where the citation is to be served and provide that information to the court. If a
Constable returns a citation for any reason, a new service fee will be required when the citation is re-issued.

The signature of party filing suit (Plaintiff) with mailing address, telephone number(s) and email address where you can
be reached is an important part of your petition. If any of your information changes you must notify the Court
immediately.
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Information for Defendants

1. When you are sued and served a citation from the Justice Court, your answer is due (in writing) by the end of the 14
day after the day you were served. If the 14" day is a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday, or non-business day, your
answer is due by the end of the first business day following the 14" day that is not a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday.
You must answer in writing and advise the Court if you wish to contest the suit and have a trial by Judge or by a Jury. If
you wish to have a jury trial there will be a $22.00 fee payable before trial. A written demand for a jury must be filed no
later than 14 days before the date a case is set for trial, no later than 3 days for Eviction cases. If the demand is not
timely, the right to a jury is waived unless the late filing is excused by the judge for good cause. Any cross or counter
claims suits will require a filing fee.

2. If you do not desire to contest the suit, and you agree that the plaintiff should recover the full amount he is seeking,
you may request (written) the court to enter a consent judgment against you.

3. You should prepare a proper defense if you go to trial even though the burden is on the Plaintiff to prove his
allegation against you.

4. If you have witnesses to your suit who will not come to Court voluntarily you may ask the Court to subpoena those
individuals prior to trial. This request should be made as soon as possible allowing at least a week for service of the
subpoena. There is a fee for the service of the subpoena and you will need to contact the court for the cost.

5. After the Plaintiff presents his case at the trial as to his right to recover, you are then allowed to present your defense
as to why he should not recover.

6. You should remember that hearsay evidence is inadmissible in Justice Court and cannot be used if objected to by the
Plaintiff. Examples of hearsay evidence are affidavits, garage estimates, police reports, and what other people orally
say. Evidence in Court is allowed at the discretion of the Judge.

7. When the Plaintiff and you have both rested your case, the Court will enter a Judgment - that the Plaintiff recovers
from you, all, part, or nothing.

8. If a judgment is rendered against you, you may appeal the ruling of this Court to the County Court within 21 days by
making a bond in the amount set by this Court.

9. Should the Court rule that the Plaintiff recover nothing from you, the Plaintiff may appeal within 21 days or his right
to recover from you is forever lost.

10. Should the plaintiff be awarded a judgment from you and you do not appeal it, the plaintiff may take further legal
action against you to collect the amount of judgment plus court costs.

11. The plaintiff may ask that an execution be issued to the Constable or the Sheriff to collect the judgment from you by
levying on certain belongings that you own.

12. The plaintiff may obtain an abstract of judgment from the Court and file it with the County Clerk. Interest accrues
against the judgment at the current rate of interest set by law.

13. If you have any other procedural questions, please call and we will try to assist you, although THE COURT MAY NOT
ANSWER ANY LEGAL QUESTIONS.

14. It is important that you provide the Court with contact information and immediately notify us of any changes in your
number or address.
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I’VE BEEN SUED, NOW WHAT?

Please keep in mind by law we are not allowed to answer legal questions or give legal advice. This is only a brief outline
to help you. The rules that govern Justice Courts can be found in part v of the Texas Rules of Civil Procedure.

MAY | SEE THE JUDGE?
The Judge by law is not permitted to discuss a pending civil case with either party prior to trial. He must remain
impartial in order to render a fair judgment. This is the reason for the instruction sheet.

WHEN DO | APPEAR FOR MY HEARING?
You may call the court and ask when the hearing date has been set. PLEASE provide your case number to the civil clerk.

DO | NEED TO FILE A WRITTEN ANSWER?

When you are sued and served with a citation from the Justice Court, you must answer the suit by filing with the Court a
proper Written Answer. Your answer is due by the end of the 14™ day after the day you were served. You must also
send the Plaintiff (person suing you) a copy of your Written Answer by mail or courier, fax, email, in person, or in any
other manner directed by the Court. If you do not respond, you are agreeing that the suit may be tried in Brazoria
County and the Plaintiff may recover the full amount he is seeking.

DO | NEED AN ATTORNEY?
The choice is yours. An attorney is not required but permitted.

MAY | REQUEST A RESET?
The Judge will consider a reset only upon proof of good reason for not being able to appear.

SHOULD | BRING A WITNESS TO TESTIFY IN MY BEHALF, OR WILL A NOTARIZED AFFIDAVIT BE OKAY?
Although an affidavit is permitted, it is always better to have a witness present to be able to answer any questions.

CAN MY WIFE/HUSBAND OR FRIEND APPEAR IN MY PLACE?
This is not a yes or no answer. Better that someone appear than no one. But no one can present the facts better than
you.

WHAT SHOULD | BRING TO PROVE MY SIDE?
Any written documents, or anyone to give testimony in your behalf.

WILL | BE ARRESTED IF | DON’T SHOW UP?
No, this is not a criminal action.

| DON’T OWE ANY MONEY, WHY SHOULD | APPEAR?
This is your opportunity to present the facts as you see them to the Judge. Also, the ruling could be against you simply
for not appearing.

WHY ARE THEY SUING ME?
Anyone can sue, and anyone can be sued. The Plaintiff is required to prove his case, and prove he has sued the correct
person, if it is challenged by the defendant.

WHAT HAPPENS IF | DON’T PAY?

In order to answer this question, we must first assume you have appeared for a hearing and the Judge has ruled against
you and a money judgment awarded to the other party, or you did not answer or appear for a hearing and the Judge
ruled Judgment by Default against you. If you fit into one of the above situations, the following could be the next course
of action if you do not appeal within 21 days of judgment.
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WHAT HAPPENS IF | DON’T PAY?

In order to answer this question, we must first assume you have appeared for a hearing and the Judge has
ruled against you and a money judgment awarded to the other party, or you did not answer or appear for a
hearing and the Judge ruled Judgment by Default against you. If you fit into one of the above situations, the
following could be the next course of action if you do not appeal within 21 days of judgment.

ABSTRACT OF JUDGMENT (Property Code — Chapter 52)

1. Available after judgment signed

2. Creates a lien on real estate in the county in which abstract is recorded. Can be recorded in any and all
counties in which defendant may have property.

3. Made available to credit bureau.

4. Draws interest at the rate set by Consumer Credit Commissioner.

5. Is effective for 10 years from date of recording and is renewable for an additional 10 years, conditioned
on a write of execution having been issued anytime during the first 10-year period.

6. Defendant’s birthdate and driver’s license number will be added to abstract if made available to court.

7. Recorded through the County Clerk’s Office.

WRIT OF EXECUTION (Rules of Court — Rule 621)
Available any time after 30 days from date of judgment.
Available for specifically described personal property.
Purpose is to seize non-exempt property or obtain payment to satisfy judgment.
Must be executed by any sheriff or constable within State of Texas.
Returnable in 30, 60 or 90 days, Plaintiff’s choice.
May issue as many times as necessary to satisfy money judgment or personal property judgment.
May be served in any county in State of Texas.
All fees expended by Plaintiff to this point will be included in a bill of cost attached to Writ.

NV WN R

NOTE: Pursuant to Texas Property Code, 42.001, there exists a personal property exemption of $60,000 for a
family and $30,000 for a single adult, in addition to 12 other items listed in the form of personal property.

Forcible Detainer (Evictions)

Eviction cases are governed by Rules 500-507 and 510 of Part V of the Rules of Civil Procedure. To the extent of any
conflict between Rule 510 and the rest of Part V, Rule 510 applies

An eviction is an action filed by the landlord or owner of the property to have a tenant or someone else removed from
the property. The landlord can include a request for unpaid back rent in their suit.

It requires a suit to be filed in the Justice of the Peace Court in the Precinct and County where the property is located.

Before you can file an eviction suit, you are required by law to give the tenant a written "Notice to Vacate." (Texas
Property Code 24.005)

If the tenant fails to appear the landlord may win by default and a judgment for possession may be granted in their
favor. If the landlord fails to appear then the court may dismiss the case without prejudice.

If the tenant fails to appeal the JP Court's decision within the 5-day appeal period then the landlord may file a "Writ of
Possession ($180.00)."
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